June Poem 26

A Greek chorus filed the garage,

And Tammy was nowhere.

 

There was a chorus spike

As soon as I realized

My body was reacting.

 

I was outstretched.

I felt the stucco against my back arms

And black feathers

That hung like tassels

Against the wall.

 

I leaned,

And a little man walked out.

He wore a green felt

Robe of biting animals.

He lifted

His right arm

And opened

His hand

Releasing a cloud of flies.

 

I felt my skin

Crawl from the sleeves,

And he bowed

To the audience with her

Against the wall.

Leave a Reply

